My Cousin Harry

I think it’s quite possible that Harry Houdini, the great American illusionist and escape artist, and I are closely related. You may not see many similarities in these photographs (Harry is on the left), but with a more in depth analysis, I think you may agree.

First, let’s look at one definition of “escapism:

Escapism is the avoidance of unpleasant, boring, arduous, scary, or banal aspects of daily life. It can also be used as a term to define the actions people take to help relieve persisting feelings of depression or general sadness.”

I never met Harry as he was much older than me and died in 1926 at 52 years of age. His reputation did however precede him and, based on the many stories I’ve heard, I think it’s safe to conclude cousin Harry was definitely escaping to avoid something(s). Why else would he ask to be tied up in chains and handcuffs while trying to escape from underground and underwater? A cut and dry case of avoidance if you ask me!

Don’t get me wrong, I’d be more than happy to welcome Harry into the family if it’s proven he’s my cousin. After all, every family needs one member who does really wild and outlandish things and makes the rest of us look normal and well-adjusted. Yes, that a role Harry could fill.

Now that I’ve broken the ice with Harry’s antics, my personal favourite avoidance techniques which follow will seem like child’s play. (Come to think of it, some of them are!)

My most recent escape trick involves a 24-pack of newly and smoothly sharpened pencil crayons and a stress-relieving adult colouring book. Oh, just the thought of it makes my heart race (similar to how Harry felt I’m sure)! I can tell myself I’m going to sit for “just an hour” and, in what seems like only minutes later, I’m promising myself to go to bed before the clock strikes one AM……tomorrow night.

Research is another activity often found in my repertoire of escape tricks. Here’s how it works: I sit down at the computer to “look” for something. Even though I’m never sure exactly what “it” is, I convince myself I’ll recognize “it” when I find “it”. Two or three hours later, “it” continues to elude me, my eyes are starting to cross, and I can’t remember what I sat down to find.

With so much going on in the world, it’s very important to keep up on my reading. How else can I engage in those thought-provoking and awe-inspiring exchanges on social media? With so many options, it’s not easy to decide which books to read:  self-help, spiritual development, the shopaholic series, auto-biographies, biographies, bibliographies, to name a few. Surely, something so educational and harmless couldn’t be considered “escapism” could it? I wish I could ask Harry.

Digging into all these family secrets has me feeling a bit uncomfortable and vulnerable. I’m not sure I like it. I wonder if there are any potato chips and chocolate bars stashed away in the cupboard. After all, eating to deal with uncomfortable feelings is definitely not “escapism”; and no, I’m not asking Harry.

Check back in the next few weeks when I’ll be sharing some insights into the why of “escapism”.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “My Cousin Harry

Leave a comment