When Will I Matter?

I matter

 

When Will I Matter?

I spent a lot of years believing that I could only possibly matter and be worthy of love from self and others if someone could convince me this was true. As a young girl and woman, I waited, searched, compromised, and settled, but it was all to no avail.  I still didn’t think I mattered.

A shift finally began in May 2009 when I had an “aha” moment and realized that the only thing preventing me from believing I mattered was a decision on my part. I recently came upon these words I wrote at that time in 2009:

You Matter

You matter
Not because of what you do
What you own or how much you make

You matter
Not only when others tell you so
Or you have a life partner, children, or the right job
Not only when you are feeling well and in top form

You matter
The moment you decide you do
Then and only then will you matter
It is so simple yet so powerful

You don’t have to wait for someone to tell you that you matter
You matter , right here, right now
Because you have decided you do

_____________________________

Recovery has been a gradual but steady process, and today I know I matter and strive to align my thoughts and actions to this truth.

Love and blessings friends,

Patricia
Women in Recovery Everywhere

 

5 thoughts on “When Will I Matter?

  1. I look forward to reading your writings. Today’s message is so important to be shared. I’m grateful to you and others who put into words what they have learned on their journey.
    Thank you…you are making a difference.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment