Massage Anyone?

February 16, 2017

“I am safe to be grounded and to be seen.”

This mantra was suggested to me a few weeks ago by my massage therapist extraordinaire. (She’s a gifted healer through her energy work, therapeutic massage and insightful and intuitive words of wisdom). It resonated with me at the time and has helped me feel more grounded and less anxious as I continue to speak out and up about living with, and recovering from, mental illness.

I’ve spent a lot of time in the last year well outside of my comfort zone as I fulfilled a promise I made to the universe in 2010:  that if I got better (from mental illness), I would help others. No one is more surprised than I am with all the opportunities I’ve had, and continue to have since that time, to bring hope and courage to others living with mental health problems or illness. I am not the same person who made that promise in 2010.

What I didn’t realize until that massage a few weeks back was that, even though I’m doing what I’m meant to do, it is still very emotionally demanding and draining to spend so much time being vulnerable. The more I push myself beyond my comfort zone without acknowledging the huge effort it takes, the more the anxiety builds up and becomes the elephant in the room. I avoid facing it for fear it will cripple and prevent me from living out my passion and calling, and I will go back to being the scared young woman, hoping to go unnoticed in life.

By using this mantra as part of my meditation, I am learning to acknowledge and accept all parts of me, the courageous adult woman who knows she has become the woman she was created to be as well as the younger woman who is scared to be seen and noticed.  When I sit in stillness and remember that “I am safe to be grounded and to be seen”, I accept and embrace all of me as equally valuable and necessary. I can then take the whole of me out into the world as I speak out and up, bringing hope and courage to others.

Yes, I will be having regular massages.

Love and blessings,

Patricia

Women in Recovery Everywhere

love-your-self

2 thoughts on “Massage Anyone?

Leave a Reply

