Flame of Hope

I originally shared this on my Facebook blog (Women in Recovery Everywhere) on September 22, 2016. In light of recent events in Quebec City, I needed to read it again and thought others might also find it encouraging.

Flame of Hope

Some days my heart is heavy, weighted down with sadness and despair.
It feels like it might explode, breaking into small pieces.
The pain I feel is for our world, not only my small world but moreso the large world in which we all live.

The endless barrage of suffering, death and dying, crowds in.
Innocent children are, at best, frightened and confused, and, at worst, suffering and dying.
Men, women and children become victims of mental illness, dying from an invisible disease, feeling hopeless and alone.

The boundaries between good and evil become more blurred, sometimes near impossible to distinguish.
A sense of security, however naive, seems to be at risk.
The possibility of one person making a difference, of changing anything, let alone the world, comes into question.
Despair and hopelessness become likely companions and complacency is not far behind.

Despite all of this darkness, a small flame, deep within, continues to beckon.
It will not be ignored.
It is the flame of HOPE.
No matter how insurmountable the mountains ahead may seem, how little progress is being made, we have to hold on to HOPE.
At the base of HOPE is love.
Love is the only defense against anger, despair, greed and hatred.

Because of HOPE, I remain committed.
Committed to embracing HOPE, sharing HOPE, making a difference, one step at a time, however small or seemingly insignificant.
I will fight the darkness with light, continuing to believe that one person can make a difference.
I will hold firmly to HOPE.
I will encourage others to do the same.
We will be steadfast in our belief in HOPE.

My plea to you friends is to join me and hold on to HOPE.
Keep the flame burning brightly.
I need it.
You need it.
We all need it.

Hold on to HOPE.

Love and blessings,

Patricia
Women  in Recovery Everywhere

hope-springs

 

Leave a Reply

